Saltar para: Posts [1], Pesquisa [2]

luís soares

Blog do escritor Luís Soares

Like magic, crime or power, CGI works best when undetected. Or does it?

Goodbye Uncanny Valley from Alan Warburton on Vimeo.

It’s 2017 and computer graphics have conquered the Uncanny Valley, that strange place where things are almost real... but not quite. After decades of innovation, we’re at the point where we can conjure just about anything with software. The battle for photoreal CGI has been won, so the question is... what happens now?

CREDITS:

Written and animated by Alan Warburton with the support of Tom Pounder and Wieden + Kennedy.
Music by Cool 3D World (http://cool3dworld.com/)
Special thanks to: Leanne Redfern, Nico Engelbrecht, Iain Tait, Indiana Matine, Katrina Sluis, David Surman, Jacob Gaboury and Daniel Rourke.

Animated backgrounds generously provided by:

• Quixel (https://quixel.se/)
• Katarina Markovic (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcr4QTtAK9N96pf_Z_zVqWg)
• Roman Senko (https://vimeo.com/rendan)

Featuring work by:

• Al and Al (http://www.alandal.co.uk/)
• Albert Omoss (http://omoss.io/)
• Alex McLeod (http://www.alxclub.com/)
• Barry Doupe (http://www.barrydoupe.ca/)
• Claudia Hart (http://www.claudiahart.com/)
• Cool 3D World (http://cool3dworld.com/)
• Dave Fothergill (https://vimeo.com/davefothergillvfx)
• Dave Stewart (https://vimeo.com/davegrafix)
• Drages Animation (https://www.youtube.com/user/drakhean)
• El Popo Sangre (https://vimeo.com/elpoposangre)
• Eva Papamargariti (http://evapapamargariti.tumblr.com/)
• Filip Tarczewski (https://vimeo.com/ftarczewski)
• Geoffrey Lillemon (http://www.geoffreylillemon.com/website/)
• Jacolby Satterwhite (http://jacolby.com/home.html)
• Jesse Kanda (http://www.jessekanda.com/)
• John Butler (https://vimeo.com/user3946359)
• Jonathan Monaghan (http://jonmonaghan.com/)
• Jun Seo Hahm (https://vimeo.com/junseohahm)
• Kathleen Daniel (http://www.duh-real.com/)
• Katie Torn (http://katietorn.com/index.html)
• Kim Laughton (http://kimlaughton.tumblr.com/)
• Kouhei Nakama (http://kouheinakama.com/)
• LuYang (http://luyang.asia/)
• Mike Pelletier (http://mikepelletier.net/)
• Nic Hamilton (https://nichamilton.info/)
• Pussykrew (http://hybrid-universe-emulation.net/)
• Rick Silva (http://ricksilva.net/)
• Sanatorios (https://www.instagram.com/sanatorios/)

Newness

Drake Doremus has become one of the indie film world’s constant observers of disconnected romance, from his breakthrough debut “Like Crazy” to “Breathe In” and the Kristen Stewart-starring “Equals,” and he continues firmly in this wheelhouse in his next feature, “Newness.” The romance drama premiered at the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year and reunites the director with his “Equals” leading man Nicholas Hoult.

Super Dark Times

A harrowing but meticulously observed look at teenage lives in the era prior to the Columbine High School massacre, SUPER DARK TIMES marks the feature debut of gifted director Kevin Phillips, whose critically acclaimed 2015 short film "Too Cool For School" premiered at the Cannes Film Festival.

Annihilation

Based on Jeff VanderMeer’s best-selling Southern Reach Trilogy, Annihilation stars Natalie Portman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Gina Rodriguez, Tessa Thompson, Tuva Novotny and Oscar Isaac. It was written and directed by Alex Garland (Ex Machina, 28 Days Later).

Isle Of Dogs

ISLE OF DOGS tells the story of ATARI KOBAYASHI, 12-year-old ward to corrupt Mayor Kobayashi. When, by Executive Decree, all the canine pets of Megasaki City are exiled to a vast garbage-dump called Trash Island, Atari sets off alone in a miniature Junior-Turbo Prop and flies across the river in search of his bodyguard-dog, Spots. There, with the assistance of a pack of newly-found mongrel friends, he begins an epic journey that will decide the fate and future of the entire Prefecture.