Saltar para: Post [1], Pesquisa e Arquivos [2]

luís soares

Blog do escritor Luís Soares

Edward Hirsch - Early Sunday Morning

I used to mock my father and his chums 
for getting up early on Sunday morning 
and drinking coffee at a local spot 
but now I’m one of those chumps.

No one cares about my old humiliations 
but they go on dragging through my sleep 
like a string of empty tin cans rattling 
behind an abandoned car.

It’s like this: just when you think 
you have forgotten that red-haired girl 
who left you stranded in a parking lot 
forty years ago, you wake up

early enough to see her disappearing 
around the corner of your dream 
on someone else’s motorcycle 
roaring onto the highway at sunrise.

And so now I’m sitting in a dimly lit 
café full of early morning risers 
where the windows are covered with soot 
and the coffee is warm and bitter.