Saltar para: Posts [1], Pesquisa [2]

luís soares

Blog do escritor Luís Soares

Aimee Mann's Tiny Desk Concert

"This song is called 'You Never Loved Me' — it's another cheery, optimistic number," says Aimee Mann, introducing the second of four songs in this Tiny Desk Concert. She has been writing songs on the human condition — more often than not with a strong sense of humor to underpin the inevitable melancholy — as far back as the '80s, when she was the singer and bassist in Boston's The Young Snakes. Mann's newest solo record, the first in five years, is baldly called Mental Illness — clearly, there's a deep honesty within these songs. (Also: This is Aimee Mann's Tiny return, so if you're loving this, take a look at her performance with Ted Leo in their duo called The Both.)

Mental Illness is available now. (iTunes) (Amazon)


Set List

  • "Rollercoasters"
  • "You Never Loved Me"
  • "Goose Snow Cone"
  • "Patient Zero"



Aimee Mann (vocals, guitar); Jonathan Coulton (guitar, vocals); Paul Bryan (bass, vocals); Jamie Edwards (piano, vocals)


Producers: Bob Boilen, Niki Walker; Audio Engineer: Josh Rogosin; Videographers: Niki Walker, Morgan Noelle Smith, Bronson Arcuri; Production Assistant: A Noah Harrison; Photo: Marian Carrasquero/NPR.

For more Tiny Desk concerts, subscribe to our podcast.

Patient Zero

Aimee Mann - Patient Zero // Taken from Mental Illness, out 3/31/17


James Urbaniak - The Dresser
The Actor - Bradley Whitford
The Actor's Friends - Matthew Weiner, Tim Heidecker, Rich Sommer, Aimee Mann

Loosely based on "The Dresser" (1980) by Ronald Harwood

Director - Daniel Ralston
Writer - Daniel Ralston & Aimee Mann
Producer - Daniel Ralston, Aimee Mann, Ed Dougherty, Tarek Kutrieh
Director of Photography - Julia Swain
Additional Photography - Jeff Schneider
Editor - Ed Dougherty
Color Correction - Robert Crosby
1st AC - Carlos Ariel Lopez
2nd AC - Madeline Quinn
Gaffer - Maria Simões
Key Grip - Nick Street
GE Swing - Will Ramsey
GE Swing - Nick Kovalenko
Key Makeup Artist - Sasha Glasser
Set Designer - Amy Taylor
Set PA - Brendan Russo