Saltar para: Posts [1], Pesquisa [2]

luís soares

Blog do escritor Luís Soares

Beethoven's Violin Concerto

It’s Beethoven's only Violin Concerto and one of the most beloved worldwide. Isabelle Faust performs the Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 together with the Berliner Philharmoniker under conductor Bernard Haitink. The concert was held in the Festspielhaus Baden Baden in 2015 as part of the city’s Easter Festival.

(00:00) I. Allegro ma non troppo
(23:43) II. Larghetto
(32:38) III. Rondo. Allegro

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) wrote the Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 for Austrian violinist Franz Clement in 1806. Its premiere was tepidly received, and for many years the work languished almost forgotten, before it was rediscovered in 1844 – this time performed by 12-year-old Hungarian violinist Joseph Joachim, and the orchestra of the London Philharmonic Society, conducted by Felix Mendelssohn. Beethoven's Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 is considered representative of Beethoven’s midlife works.

Wednesday music.

Violinist Isabelle Faust and the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Mark Elder, perform Beethoven's 'Violin Concerto' in Het Concertgebouw during The Sunday Morning Concert of Sunday the 25th of February 2018.


Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra
Mark Elder [conductor]
Isabelle Faust [violin]