Saltar para: Posts [1], Pesquisa [2]

luís soares

Blog do escritor Luís Soares

The Duke







Gordon Parks was seventeen when, in 1929, he first met Edward Kennedy “Duke” Ellington in the back of the Orpheum Theatre in Minneapolis. A veteran of Harlem’s famed Cotton Club, Ellington was widely recognized as one of the jazz world’s leading figures—and he was in the process of effectively reinventing the genre by blending big-band orchestral arrangements with solo improvisation. By contrast, Parks was living on the streets, playing piano in flophouses, hanging around nightclubs and pool halls, and skipping school. He was enthralled by Ellington’s style, grace, and musical genius.

Ellington became a hero for the young man. Decades later, in 1960, Parks was overjoyed by the opportunity to tour with Ellington’s band, calling it “a trip through paradise” (To Smile in Autumn, 1979). By then, Ellington was the foremost big-band leader, having recorded with John Coltrane, Charles Mingus, and Max Roach. In his photographs, Parks revealed his admiration for the musician’s pensive elegance, magnetic personality, and exceptional stage presence.

Sir Duke

Stevie Wonder - Sir Duke


Stevie Wonder's irresistible ode to jazz, explained

Stevie Wonder is one of the most widely celebrated artists in history. His music is infectious, melodic, and thoughtfully inspired by the jazz musicians who came before him. In his legendary song "Sir Duke," Stevie paid homage to the late Duke Ellington and his other predecessors.

Jacob Collier is a rising star in his own right and is Stevie Wonder's self-proclaimed greatest fan. Here, he breaks down the jazz influences and syncopations Stevie uses to create the magic that is "Sir Duke."

The Garden

Brad Mehldau's "The Garden," from his album Finding Gabriel, due May 17, 2019.


Becca Stevens: voice

Gabriel Kahane: voice

Ambrose Akinmusire: trumpet, solo

Michael Thomas: flute, alto sax

Charles Pillow: soprano sax, alto sax, bass clarinet

Joel Frahm: tenor sax

Chris Cheek: tenor sax, baritone sax

Brad Mehldau: OB-6 Polyphonic synthesizer, Therevox, Moog Little Phatty synthesizer, Steinway C grand piano, voice

Mark Guiliana: drums



Artwork by Dima Drjuchin

Animated by Robert Edridge-Waks

João Barradas - Home

Do Shifter:

Já não se pode dizer que João Barradas seja um novo nome no panorama do jazz português. Começou a tocar acordeão aos 6 anos, fez-se coleccionador de prémios desde os 9 e nestes últimos dois anos editou dois discos: Directions em 2016, e An End as a New Beginning num projecto chamado Home, lançado em Outubro do ano passado. Aos 25 anos, é considerado um dos mais importantes acordeonistas do mundo na actualidade, transportando o seu instrumento para contextos em que não estamos acostumados a ouvi-lo.

Joey Alexander NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert

Nov. 30, 2018 | Lauren Onkey -- When a baby grand piano rolls into the office for a Tiny Desk concert, you expect something special. But none of us could have imagined what it's like to see 15-year old Joey Alexander play that piano with such mastery. The thing is, when you see him play live, you quickly forget his age and get lost in the intense focus of his performance. Alexander and his stellar supporting cast — Reuben Rogers on bass and Kendrick Scott on drums — form a tight trio, locking eyes as Alexander's compositions unfold. The relaxed, seasoned veterans looked thrilled to be playing with Alexander at the Tiny Desk, and he was clearly inspired playing with them. The crowd was both mesmerized and humbled by the memories of what they were doing at 15.

Born in Indonesia, Alexander learned to play by listening to his father's jazz albums. When he was just 10-years old, Wynton Marsalis invited him to play at a Jazz at Lincoln Center gala, and the young Alexander set the jazz world buzzing. He made his mark covering classics by Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane, but he's now recording and performing more of his own compositions. He showcased that original work during his Tiny Desk performance. Alexander's vigorously rhythmic playing was playful in the opening "Eclipse" (from his latest album of the same name), which he described as "spontaneous playing." "Bali," also from Eclipse, followed, while "City Lights" (from his 2016 album Countdown) closed a set that ranks among the year's finest jazz performances at the Tiny Desk.

Set List
"City Lights"

Producers: Suraya Mohamed, Morgan Noelle Smith; Creative Director: Bob Boilen; Audio Engineer: Josh Rogosin; Videographers: Morgan Noelle Smith, Kaylee Domzalski, Bronson Arcuri; Editor: Kaylee Domzalski; Production Assistant: Brie Martin; Photo: Cameron Pollack/NPR

Blue Rondo à la Turk

Aos domingos à meia-noite, Filipe Melo convida alguém extraordinário para uma conversa, com muita música pelo meio. Para concluir, um mini concerto de duas músicas, uma escolhida pelo anfitrião, outra pelo convidado. Este episódio tem como convidado Alexandre Frazão, baterista brasileiro conhecido pelas suas colaborações com Mário Laginha, Bernardo Sassetti, Resistência, Trio TGB, Tim Tim por Tim Tum ou Led On, de tributo aos Led Zeppelin Com Alexandre Frazão, Filipe Melo fez uma versão de "Blue Rondo à la Turk", original de The Dave Brubeck Quartet.