Saltar para: Post [1], Pesquisa e Arquivos [2]

luís soares

Blog do escritor Luís Soares

Thom Gunn - In Trust

            You go from me

        In June for months on end

    To study equanimity

         Among high trees alone;

     I go out with a new boyfriend

And stay all summer in the city where

         Home mostly on my own

         I watch the sunflowers flare.

 

             You travel East

        To help your relatives.

   The rainy season's start, at least,

        Brings you from banishment:

    And from the hall a doorway gives

A glimpse of you, writing I don't know what,

         Through winter, with head bent

         In the lamp's yellow spot.

 

              To some fresh task

         Some improvising skill

     Your face is turned, of which I ask

         Nothing except the presence:

    Beneath white hair your clear eyes still

Are candid as the cat's fixed narrowing gaze

        —Its pale-blue incandescence

        In your room nowadays.

 

             Sociable cat:

         Without much noise or fuss

    We left the kitchen where he sat,

          And suddenly we find

     He happens still to be with us,

In this room now, though firmly faced away,

          Not to be left behind,

          Though all the night he'll stray.

 

              As you began

        You'll end the year with me.

   We'll hug each other while we can,

        Work or stray while we must.

    Nothing is, or will ever be,

Mine, I suppose. No one can hold a heart,

          But what we hold in trust

          We do hold, even apart.